West World Reviews

The WEST WORLD Homepage West World Characters About The Author Video Contact Info Excerpt West World Reviews Purchase Books West World Cosplay



Return to West World 

 Mark Bullen
Blexleyheath, United Kingdom
(June 5, 2012)

 Ah!! Return to West World, my favourite in the soon-to-be trilogy!!! It's explosive, action packed, and full of thrill and excitement!!! The story sees Tom Shallowhorne return back into an action-packed, upbeat, fast-paced story. A sci-fi masterpiece spliced with the themes of a classic western film. My opinon - Frikin epic!! So much action and the storylines are terrific!!! It bases upon the mind and imagination of the reader as well as the action!! The Series so far? Excellent!!! Can't wait for the third!!! 

Standout characters - Tom Shallowhorne - all the way. With Tom we get a good classic western vibe just like Clint Eastwood did in the 'Dollars' trilogy and the Pale Rider. And I love the theme of Steampunk. I'm not going to reveal many spoilers just yet, but you must read this one to the end, if you want to pick up any future West World novels, as the ending of the second plays a crucial part in the whole West World universe. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I have, and I have high hopes for the future of the series.

Tom Horner
Chattanooga, TN
(December 11, 2009)

Return to West World is a fantastic odyssey into the life of Tom Shallowhorne, whose space adventures are wonderfully alluring. Different planets and fantastic aliens abound in this book.  For those who are fans of Firefly and even Louis L’ amour, you will enjoy the 2nd book in this series.  Action and adventure is at every turn and there is even some romance for those of us who lead by our heartstrings.

 Rusty Lowry
East Ridge, TN
(April 23, 2009)

In this sophomore novel, Ed Crandell takes us back to Endía, the planet in the stars that is the last bastion for morals and virtue in an otherwise corrupt galaxy.  Once again Tom Shallowhorne takes up the fight for the people with no voice and defends all he holds dear.  The new characters in this novel add a depth and richness to the ever-changing tapestry of the Crandell universe.  If you're looking for a book that has cliche characters and a story that's boringly modern Sci-Fi, this is not your book.  But if you want an action-packed thrill ride that mirrors our history and shows us what we can become as a people, both the good and the bad, this is your series, and the second installment will not let you down.

West World

Kara Menter
Slidell, LA (June 14, 2012)

Every now and again, we readers crave an adventure where some of our favorite genres are twisted and braided together to give us a taste of a reality worth exploring anew. West World is a novel that can nourish the feminine drama of hidden true love yet have it not overplay the action of a good ol' Wild West shootout. The main character, Thomas Shallowhorne, struggles through real-life issues where there is no clean-cut right and wrong answer. Grey shadowing enough that you'll find yourself staked in the outcome of the ending battle, and at the edge of your seat for the sequel. There's enough detailing to entertain all types of science fiction fans and not scare off those who are not, a type of storytelling that really can entertain all.

Jim Badger
Crandall, GA
(February 25, 2011)
"If you want to read something diverting and really different, check out West World. This book is a sort of precursor to what I think is going to be a movement in the world of science fiction. There's this movie coming called Cowboys & Aliens... West World is there right now with the warring tribes, the greedy bankers and always, the battles between the noble sages and the corrupt soldiers. It's fun to read, nothing heavy but of course there are always the daring men and the beautiful women, check it out....Oh, and it's the first in a trilogy, so there's more fun where West World comes from, the mind of author Ed Crandell."

 Talia Belz
Rocky Face, GA (January 20, 2010)
West World is not your typical cliche western or futuristic book.  It's humorous, exciting, perfect for all ages and I would recommend it to anyone.

Shon Medley
Trenton, GA
Offers fast-paced action delivered with clever and quirky play on words.  It's very much Star Wars meets John Wayne!

Rusty
East Ridge, TN
(April 21, 2009)
The world of science fiction and fantasy has been hurting for a fresh approach.  For the first time in years, a story has moved me.  West World is the story of man verses ambition.  The more I read this book, the more I became concerned with the outcome for each character.  You find yourself having a stake in Endia and the struggles of all its people.  The action is fast paced and heart stopping.  The wholesome approach to the writing is refreshing and it's something I would recommend to all ages.  If you're looking for a yarn that will keep you on the edge of your seat, look no further.  West World has it all.  I would be there now . . . "were it not for the stars."

Jeff Hickey
Ringgold GA
(March 11, 2008)
A very fun read!  I enjoyed it immensely and can't wait for the sequel.. Thanks also for signing my book and for being a guest at Con Nooga 2008 and 2009!  Now get back to writing!!! ;)

Justen Belz
Rocky Face, GA
 
(August 11, 2007)
This is a book that broke me out of my lack of enjoyment for reading and made me enjoy it again.  I can't wait for number two.

Tom Horner
Chattanooga, TN

West World is a fantastically written book that bridges the gap of those who like Zane Grey and Louis L'Amour while also enjoying the science fiction writing of Orson Scott Card and Isaac Asimov.  The characters in the book have an enticing progression, while also maintaining the balance of having the reader emote and identify with them.  There is action, love, betrayal and forgiveness found in this great work.

Robert Freese
Huntsville, AL

West World is a wonderful melding of sci-fi and western that delivers a fun and fast-paced adventure story with plenty of wild characters and surprises along the way.  This is the first book that I've read in years that is suitable for all audiences, as Crandell does not wallow in violence, sex and gore.  Extremely enjoyable and recommended.

Jaime
Harrisonville, MO
(June 17, 2007)
Don't miss out!  This is one book you don't want to miss out on.  Whether young or old, you'll find this book to be enjoyable entertainment.

Roger Barnes
Kentucky
(June 7, 2007)
West World was a really good book.  Although it is not the kind of book I normally read, it kept my interest all the way through and made me laugh. . . . There was just enough suspense and romance to keep it lively.  Once I started reading it, I couldn't wait to get some time to finish the book.

Cindy
Dalton, GA
(May 24, 2007)
Great fun!  Great read, Ed.  I sincerely hope that people won't miss this one!  Action packed, with something for everyone.